3 min read

Chakra is Sanskrit for the word wheel or disc, chakras are energy vortices that spin as glowing wheels of light within every sentient being. Humans have seven chakras that correspond with areas of the body starting at the base of the spine all the way up to the top of the skull. Chakras can be overactive or deficient, which means they are blocked or out of balance.

You can understand how chakras affect mental, physical, and spiritual health by learning about the qualities and associated colors. Each chakra has a special duty and vibrates at a particular frequency which corresponds to the vibrations of certain colors.

Mala Beads to Balance the Chakras

Selecting the gemstones in your mala beads according to the corresponding Chakra assists vibration at the appropriate frequency. Below you will find a description of each Chakra, it's color definition, and recommended mala beads based on the gemstones featured in their design.

Root Chakra

The first chakra is called the Root or Muladhara it is located at the base of the spine and is your connection to the earth. If energy flows smoothly through this chakra, one will feel a deep connection to nature.

The Root Chakra's associated color is red which symbolize "I Am", security and physical identity. Its qualities are stability and grounding. 

Mala beads for the 1st chakra are: red jasper, onyx, rhodonite, and garnet.

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is Svadhistana or the Sacral and it is located in your lower abdomen below the navel. When balanced, energy feels restored and more open and able to enjoy life.

Orange is the color of the Sacral Chakra, it signals "I Feel" and gives you the qualities of water, fluid, flowing, and sensuality. 

Mala gemstones for the 2nd Chakra are: carnelian and orange or red aventurine. 

Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus or Manipura is the third chakra and is located just above the navel. When energy flows smoothly through this chakra, one feels a deep sense of inner peace.

The color associated with the Solar Plexus chakra is yellow, which symbolize "I Do" and is the symbol of your internal fire, transformative heat, self-esteem, and willpower. 

Mala gemstones for the 3rd chakra are: tiger's eye and citrine.

Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is Anahata which means "unstruck" commonly known as the Heart chakra it is located at the middle of the chest and opens outward. This chakra is your relationship to air and connection with others.

The Heart chakra is associated with the color green and symbolically means "I Love", representing empathy and transformation. When in balance, the heart is open and radiates joy and friendliness with a great sense of empathy and consideration of others. 

Mala gemstones recommended for the 4th chakra are: green aventurine, jade, moss agate, rhodonite, and rose quartz.

Throat Chakra

Vishuddha, the fifth chakra or Throat supports your sound, self-expression, and communication. It is located at the base of the throat. When energy flows freely through the throat chakra one will be open to new experiences, individuals will be capable of expressing themselves and standing up for their beliefs.

Blue is the color of the Throat Chakra which means "I Speak", expression and communication, the color of innocence, calming and healing. 

Mala beads for the 5th chakra are: lapis lazuli, turquoise, and blue aventurine.

Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra or Third Eye is Ajna or "to perceive". It is located at the center of the forehead and is your wisdom light enabling you to see clearly. When this chakra is balanced one's understanding becomes broad and deep, the individual sees the world and themselves clearly and their intuitive sense is reliable. 

The color for the 6th chakra is indigo and symbolically means "I See", representing vision and intuition, mysticism and mental freedom. 

Mala stones recommended for the forehead chakra are: sodalite or amethyst.

Crown Chakra

The seventh chakra known as the Crown or Sahasrara meaning "thousandfold" is located at the top of the head where celestial energy enters the body, it is the stepping point to the infinite. Opening this chakra leads to enlightenment, pure consciousness, and unity with all that is.

There are three colors associated with this chakra, white, gold, and violet. Violet is the color with the highest vibrational frequency. White is the color of pure intelligence, and gold the light of life force energy.

Mala gemstones favored for the 1st chakra are: moonstones, clear quartz crystal, and amethyst.

Chakra Mala & Bracelets

In addition to the above-recommended stones, you may be interested in our 7 chakra mala bracelets sold individually or as a set. 

Chakra Bracelets by Golden Lotus Mala